DragCoverage.com Speed Forums  

Go Back   DragCoverage.com Speed Forums > Everything Else > Do It Yourself - "Talk Tech"


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-10-2016, 03:45 PM
Fordboy's Avatar
Fordboy Fordboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LilMohe View Post
Its a sealer called Super Seal 30. Works great for sealing concrete. Stops the dust that never stops if u don't do something. Oil spills clean up good. Only problem with it is solvents such as gas, brake kleen, thinner and etc will lift it. I wanted to epoxy it or something along those lines. It was more money than I wanted to spend at the time. 200.00 dollars bought enough to cover 40x60 slab. For me the pole barn idea was considerably cheaper. I did all my wiring. Wood is way more easier than metal to attach stuff to if u know what I mean. LOL. Pole barn was not my first choice. After I did it. It was the right decision for me. Maybe this helps a little.
That helps a bunch. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-11-2016, 05:08 PM
Pitts Performance 1 Pitts Performance 1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordboy View Post
I keep hearing that. Im going to start pricing different building options. Are you going to add concrete later?
my ground has too much grade. It would be raised 2ft. in the front. I'm just going to add crush run gravel.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-11-2016, 11:40 PM
MrBill's Avatar
MrBill MrBill is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitts Performance 1 View Post
my ground has too much grade. It would be raised 2ft. in the front. I'm just going to add crush run gravel.
That is a lot. I had a 6 inch drop from front to back. A load of good clay fixed that real quick.

If you use crushed gravel, you going to try to level it or just leave the drop?
__________________
To make a friend, be one...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-12-2016, 05:47 PM
Pitts Performance 1 Pitts Performance 1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 60
Default

Leave the drop. It's just trailer storage.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-15-2016, 12:51 AM
ClintHester ClintHester is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitts Performance 1 View Post
There is no way you can beat this for the money. 30 x 60 with 14 ft. sides metal. My ground was very uneven and I didn't want to build up 18" of concrete. 6x6 post with 2x6 side boards and 2" angle trusses.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilMohe View Post
Its a sealer called Super Seal 30. Works great for sealing concrete. Stops the dust that never stops if u don't do something. Oil spills clean up good. Only problem with it is solvents such as gas, brake kleen, thinner and etc will lift it. I wanted to epoxy it or something along those lines. It was more money than I wanted to spend at the time. 200.00 dollars bought enough to cover 40x60 slab. For me the pole barn idea was considerably cheaper. I did all my wiring. Wood is way more easier than metal to attach stuff to if u know what I mean. LOL. Pole barn was not my first choice. After I did it. It was the right decision for me. Maybe this helps a little.
Lester and LilMohe who did you buy the pole barns from? LilMohe do you have any other pics of the metal trusses used in your shop?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-15-2016, 08:31 AM
Pitts Performance 1 Pitts Performance 1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 60
Default

Mine is an Alabama Steel building. They use larger material for the A-Frames than most places.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-15-2016, 08:34 AM
batman's Avatar
batman batman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: in a house
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LilMohe View Post
Its a sealer called Super Seal 30. Works great for sealing concrete. Stops the dust that never stops if u don't do something. Oil spills clean up good. Only problem with it is solvents such as gas, brake kleen, thinner and etc will lift it. I wanted to epoxy it or something along those lines. It was more money than I wanted to spend at the time. 200.00 dollars bought enough to cover 40x60 slab. For me the pole barn idea was considerably cheaper. I did all my wiring. Wood is way more easier than metal to attach stuff to if u know what I mean. LOL. Pole barn was not my first choice. After I did it. It was the right decision for me. Maybe this helps a little.
the epoxy for my 30x30 was $1k by itself. I'm doing the shop AND my new 3 car garage while the house is being built. Labor's not too bad but the product is pricey as heck.
__________________
Bill(THE BATMAN)Davis
Speed never killed anyone, it was always that sudden stop at the end
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-16-2016, 08:31 AM
LilMohe LilMohe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClintHester View Post
Lester and LilMohe who did you buy the pole barns from? LilMohe do you have any other pics of the metal trusses used in your shop?
Maybe this helps
Attached Images
    
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-16-2016, 08:35 AM
LilMohe LilMohe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Default

The fellow that built this one is Decatur TN. Not sure he is still doing them. Had health issues. Sorry for slow responce. Just found it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-16-2016, 08:38 AM
LilMohe LilMohe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batman View Post
the epoxy for my 30x30 was $1k by itself. I'm doing the shop AND my new 3 car garage while the house is being built. Labor's not too bad but the product is pricey as heck.
I remember it being high dollar when my dad and I built our shop in FL back in the day. Good stuff and last along time.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-20-2016, 08:46 AM
ClintHester ClintHester is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks Lester and LilMohe

LilMohe are yours made from 2x3 tubing and is that angle or a rod triangulating the truss?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-20-2016, 09:00 AM
LilMohe LilMohe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Default

I think it's 2x3. I will measure it. Yes on angle iron.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-20-2016, 10:04 AM
LilMohe LilMohe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClintHester View Post
Thanks Lester and LilMohe

LilMohe are yours made from 2x3 tubing and is that angle or a rod triangulating the truss?
I was wrong. Its 4x4. Has .125 wall thickness. Angle iron is 1-1/2". Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-29-2016, 08:55 AM
Rufaast Rufaast is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 41
Default

40x50x12 steel building here, 3 big doors, I have a lift, dpending on the pitch of the roof dictates how much room you have in the center, I have 10K lift and put my lifted super duty on it and no issues at all with it going all the way to the top of the lift. im 6' and can stand under my lift when its all the way up. concrete can be pricey, I got my building from steelmax in adel ga, right down from the track . they have a website you can build your building online and see cost etc. I would recommend the longer fasteners and upgrade the insulation in the walls, its not that much more and well worth it.I live in the county and had to pull a permit, because I used a engineered foundation, I didn't want any issues, plus you will have to have more concrete in the floor in the area for your lift, yea yea I know what the manufactures say only 4 to 6" but I don't trust that, if you have a lot of money in your shop and you will, why go cheap on concrete, you are under your lift! I have a BendPak lift love it, got it from summit, its not the TOP OF THE LINE lift, but by far not the cheapest, approx. 2500.00 for lift.
when building your shop I would recommend LED lights when you get to the electrical side not that much more at all and well worth it ..I wired my entire shop, will save you a ton of money if you can do that as well. and if you do remember to put GFI receptacles near the door for your SAFETY, you can use GFI breakers as well but they cost $$, also do not use romex to wire your shop, cheaper yes, but once again Safety, Use MC cable.
I Built mine in 2013 building was around 20ish to my door(all metal no wood) and it is a engineered building for wind load etc etc so are the doors, had a crew the manufacture recommend to install it, 3days and they were done cost 3500.00,
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.